A Letter to Donald Trump

Mr. Trump,

My name is April, and I am 34 years old.  I am one of the individuals that will be likely affected by the new bill you are trying to sneak through congress.

I work as a behavioral counselor with children with autism, and I attend an online program through Capella University to get my Master’s Degree in Psychology, with a specialization in ABA.   My current job serves as an internship for my Master’s Degree program.  I do not qualify for health insurance through my company, and I cannot afford to purchase it independently.  I have health services through medical, which allow me to treat my chronic asthma.

I do not have a smart phone, so I cannot eliminate that expense–in fact, I have one of the small, free phones they give out to those with low income, so tell me which expense I should eliminate if my health insurance does get taken away?  Should I stop eating?  Should I not pay my car payment or my car insurance or just not get the oil changed in my car any longer?  Should I stop paying my rent?  Or maybe I should get rid of my internet and give up on school?

As you can see, it is not so simple as getting rid of a smart phone.  I cannot speak for everyone, but a lot of working class individuals are already stretched thin.  Did you know that I run out of groceries before the end of my pay period sometimes?  There are sometimes days, even up to a week, where I spend most of the time starving, because all I have to survive on are peanut butter sandwiches or beans and rice?  My guess is that you didn’t know that there are people out there, in our country, who survive like this.

I need my car for work, so if I were to stop paying my car payment and my car were to be repossessed, I would likely lose my job.  I drive between my clients each day, so the bus is not an option.  As it is, I barely have enough time to get from one client to another even with a car.

I need my apartment for simple peace of mind.  I’m sure I could find a room to rent that is cheaper, I have in the past, but a lot of the people on craigslist that are advertising such rooms are crazy.  Not all, but most.  I feel safe where I live, and my landlord works with me as far as paying the rent, but that doesn’t mean that I can get away with not paying it at all.  And in order to have an apartment that is within my budget, I live far away from my job, which means that I have roughly an hour’s commute each day.

Mr. Trump, quite simply, you don’t know what the working class goes through, because you’ve never taken the time to find out.  Why would you?  Your life has been about bottom lines and making as much money as you can.  But you’re not a business mogul anymore.  You’re the president of the United States, and the working class is the backbone of this country.  You can no longer afford to be selfish and focus only on the needs of yourself and your wealthy friends. We are human beings, and we are not expendable.   We have a right to affordable health care.  We have a right to an education, and we have a right to be treated fairly no matter the color of our skin, our gender,  our sexual orientation, or the level of our income.  We are white, black, or brown.   We are female or male, gay or straight, wealthy or poor.  We are the American people, and we are watching you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

