Aerial & SUP Yoga

So I’ve really been neglecting writing on my vacation–no blog posts about the vacation (except that first day), and very little work on my novel for nanowrimo.  Looks like I won’t be finishing again this year.  I’m having a little bit of a motivation problem, but more on that later.

The point of this blog is supposed to be new things, where I write about my experience (it just turned into a daily burden for a little while).  So this trip has largely been about doing new things.  On Sunday, I attended both Aerial and SUP Yoga.

Aerial Yoga was….interesting.  I wasn’t able to do much flipping around for two reasons:  it was a more restorative class, but also because my back was really sensitive to pinching from the fabric.  The best part was when we flipped onto the silk at the end for corpse pose (and yes, I am familiar with the sanskrit, but I am uncertain as to the spelling, hence why I just chose the English translation).  I liked the class overall, and I’m glad that I did it, but I probably won’t do it again.

SUP Yoga was fun.  I went through meetup.com, so it was much cheaper than it would ordinarily have been.  It was one-on-one, and the lady in charge of it was very nice, and very good at teaching me how to stand on a paddleboard.  It was my first time on a paddleboard, and I tell you, once you get the hang of it, it is really easy–so much easier than kayaking.  The challenge is getting onto the board for the first time, but once you do, and figure out the balancing (which is intuitive) it’s really not hard to paddleboard.

The yoga part wasn’t as fun.  I think mostly because the teacher’s style of yoga was very different from mine. All I really got to do were couple of poses with the paddle board tethered on the beach–I felt that we didn’t really do much yoga-wise.  I would have liked to have done a bit more of a vinyasa flow, but overall, the SUP Yoga was a very good and enjoyable experience, and I definitely plan on doing it again in the future.  It’s a great way to be out on the water, but to stay dry in the cooler months.  (I went kayaking on snorkeling yesterday, and I was freezing a vast majority of the time, so I think paddleboarding is a good alternative).

 

Leave a Reply

