Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (and getting there)

I arrived in San Diego last evening for my birthday trip–the first real vacation I’ve had in about a decade.  I live in Los Angeles, which is anywhere from 2-3 hours from San Diego, depending on traffic.

My trip did not start off so well, starting with the four hour commute–granted, I did have to stop and get gas, and then I got lost, but still.  There was an accident and then I hit traffic even on the back roads.

By the time I got to my hotel, I was exhausted and running late to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.  I had to hurry to unpack my things and get a shower–with cold water.  I do have to say that is my biggest complaint about the hotel so far –we’ll see if I can get hot water tonight.

Now onto the movie.  Turns out the movie started a half hour later than I had thought, so I managed to get there on time, but I hadn’t eaten.  Luckily, I had packed my lunch for in between work and another appointment, and hadn’t eaten that, so I ate that in the movie.  As far as the movie itself…I definitely liked it, don’t get me wrong, but there were other things that distracted me–being tired from the drive, being freezing, and still being hungry even after eating the peanut butter sandwich and orange with my Kombucha tea.

The movie itself was rather hilarious, especially Newt Scamander’s character.  He’s just your everyday nerd, and he doesn’t seem to care what other people think of him.  He does a mating dance with one of the beasts to get her back into the case, and it really is hilarious, not to mention the animation for all the animals.  A niffler also plays a role in the story (a very hilarious role).  Over all, the story is most definitely a comedy, and the main characters are adults rather than children (like Harry Potter), which is refreshing in a lot of ways.  I do recommend Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them–it’s very different than Harry Potter in a lot of ways, but still very good in its own right.

Leave a Reply

