Back from Break

So I know that May was supposed to be health and fitness month, and for me it has been, despite my lack of writing.

I had intended to give you a day by day snapshot, which eventually would go to more like a couple of days or once a week, and then there was all kinds of drama at work, and I just needed a break from everything–but I did focus on health and fitness.

I have been trying to get back into the routine of doing yoga after having missed so much from being sick and from injuries.  I still had to miss on Tuesday, because I was sick, but I’m doing the best I can to keep up with it.  I also cut out processed foods.

I haven’t been counting calories or following any particular diet–I’ve just been avoiding processed foods and trying to eat more fruits and vegetables and whole grains, and most of the time, I’m not even tempted by the processed foods I used to eat.  I don’t even really see that stuff as food anymore, but as poison thanks to all the chemicals and sugars added to them.  That said, there are times where there is nothing I’d like less than to go to McDonald’s and get a McChicken or a cheeseburger, but somehow that part is not stronger than the part of me that doesn’t even see those as food.

So what happened when I cut out processed foods?  Well, I’d like to say that I feel better, but that is just not the case.  As much as I don’t see those things as food, my body is more or less in withdrawal from suddenly being without the chemicals, without the sugars, and probably even from the lack of dairy.  Yes, dairy.  Believe it or not, research actually shows that dairy is bad for us, and that people who eat/drink a lot of dairy are at a higher risk for osteoporosis, not lower.  I don’t expect you to take my word for it–check it out yourself.  My reason for bringing it up is simply to explain that I’m not doing this blindly or without reason, nor is this some kind of fad that I’m just joining into.  And the withdrawal symptoms?  I did my research on that, too.  It’s a process as my body gets rid of the toxins I have been putting into it for years–and if you don’t believe me on that, start looking at the labels on your favorite foods.  How many ingredients are on there that you can’t even pronounce?

But there is one positive thing that has been going on–I’ve lost a lot of weight in a short period of time without even trying, and that is apparently not uncommon either.  Many of these toxins bond to fat, and the sugar turns into fat, so without either the sugar or new toxins being added, the liver goes into overdrive to get rid of those toxins.

Given the things that I know now about food and health, I am very seriously considering going vegan–but I’m not sure if I want to start that right away or wait until after the withdrawal from everything else subsides.

Leave a Reply

