Homesick

I decided to enroll at Immaculata University, which was six hours away in Philadelphia.  It took me some time once I had gotten there to find work–I ended up working as an independent contractor as a Therapeutic Staff Support (TSS), which is actually very similar to what I do now; Pennsylvania just didn’t really know what they were doing in that arena.  This is something I’ve figured out by being with a company who really does know how to do this kind of work.

I went to a lot of Al-anon meetings and did my best to survive out there, but my heart wasn’t in it.  I was homesick, and the entire reason I had gone was to get away from home and away from my crazy family, but between the homesickness and continually hunting for a roommate (my roommates would stay until the end of the lease and then move out), I went home.  And thus was the beginning of the nightmare.

Leave a Reply

