108 Sun Salutations

Yoga and Good Friday?  Seems a bit strange doesn’t it?  But for me, this is a new tradition I started last year.  108 Sun Salutations is basically the marathon of yoga, and it is saved for special occasions, particularly the change of seasons, however, the change of seasons has zero importance for me.  Seasons change, and I think that is important for the weather, but it’s not something I feel the need to celebrate, however, I cannot think of a more important time of year than Holy Week and Easter.

For me, Good Friday is a day of contemplation and of meditation, and that is exactly what I use the 108 Sun Salutations for.  When I do my 108 Sun Salutations it is a meditation of my past, present, and future, where I have been, where I am now, and where I hope to be in my future.  I create my playlist in advance, and really this is my guide for when to switch variations and gives me an idea as to when I am finished.  I do not actually count my sun salutations, which is different from the yoga translation, because for me, this allows more focus on the meditation.

There are three main variations on sun salutations A, B, and C, and although a traditional 108 Sun Salutations does not use all three of these, I do.  This year, I will also be utilizing a fourth variation as a warm up.  The warm up will make up my early past, particularly focusing on my childhood, which those of you who have read my blog in the past know that my childhood was more or less filled with emotional abuse, due to my upbringing in an alcoholic household.  This section features songs such as Because of You by Kelly Clarkson and Love Me for Me by Zoegirl.

The second section focuses on Sun Salutation A, or the most basic Sun Salutation and focusing on my recent past, just before I moved to California, including Blessings by Laura Story and You Won’t Relent by Jesus Culture, both very powerful songs  from that part of my history, and remind me heavily of the death of a beloved pet.

The third section will be Sun Salutation B, which adds the Warrior I pose to Sun Salutation A and focuses on my present.  Songs include Veridia’s Pretty Lies, Hollyn’s Alone, and Need to Breathe’s Brother.

Lastly, I conclude with Sun Salutation C, which includes low lunges instead of warrior poses, and songs include Renew Me, Keys to the Kingdom, and What Life Should be Like by Avalon, Crew 1, and Big Daddy Weave respectfully.  The idea is to work out issues from the past and present and to be able to move forward into the future.

Leave a Reply

