Trust in God, Trust in Others

It is now March 2nd, and I haven’t written anything about my faith.  There was one time where this was all I wrote about on blogs, but I am finding that it is difficult to write about this on command–so I’m going back to the beginning.  The first blog post I ever wrote was about trust in God–a concept that I had a very difficult time with.  Everyone talks about how much that God loves us, so much that he sent his only son into the world to die for us–to die a horrible death on a cross.  That’s some love, huh?  He loved us so much that he was willing to die an excruciating death.

But wait a minute–it wasn’t Jesus’ idea to die.  He asked for ‘this cup’ to be taken away, but “Thy will, not my will be done”.  Jesus didn’t want to die–he was obeying his father.  Now why do I point that out?  This doesn’t lessen his sacrifice in any way.  He still died for us, no matter who asked him to do it, but I bring it up, because God is our father, too.  Okay, we’ve established that, right?  He’s our father, and he loves us. But he was Jesus’ father, and he loves Jesus, too.  Is it starting to become a little clearer?

Here’s the issue–who is to say that God won’t ask us to give our lives for someone else?  “Greater love has no one than this, than someone lay down his life for his friends.”  (John 15:13).

Let’s just say that this is where my mind was a few years ago when I was exploring this topic.  I was terrified….and honestly, this still scares me.  It scared Jesus.  Do you remember the agony in the garden?

 

So why did Jesus have to die?  I’ve heard it said, that we needed a scapegoat.  It was the tradition to sacrifice a goat or a lamb or even a child (remember Abraham and Isaac?) to appease the gods for their sins, and maybe there is something to this theory, but I don’t think it was the only reason–and definitely not the main reason.

I think that Jesus had to die to show us what love is.

Think about that for a second.  Think about how we as a society, even now, define love–sexual gratification, getting emotional needs met…me, me, me.  But Jesus told us that the greatest love would sacrifice itself for what or who it loves.  How many of you are willing to sacrifice?  I don’t know about you, but I’m not.  The idea of it terrifies me–but then, I spent most of my childhood sacrificing to the point where I didn’t feel like a person anymore.

But honestly…I think the idea should terrify us.  Opening our hearts to another person…it’s a huge thing.  We’re giving them a huge gift, and entering into a relationship with someone shouldn’t be done lightly.  I’m not saying that we shouldn’t try to be there for our fellow man, but we have to be careful who we let get close to us…who we let have power over our lives, because the closer someone is, the more power they have.  This is not to say that we shouldn’t let anyone in, but rather that we should be discerning in who does get chosen for the honor, especially in our dating relationships.

 

Leave a Reply

