My First Rebellion

After graduating from college, I was restless.  I liked my job, don’t get me wrong, but it wasn’t what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.  I didn’t really know what I wanted to do with my life, but I did know that I wanted to have stories to tell my grandchildren some day.

A lot of people don’t know this, but I actually started out as a music major in college.  For a long time, I wanted to do something with music–I just didn’t know what.  It wasn’t until the end of my sophomore year in college that I found out about music therapy.  I tried to transfer out to go to a different school for music therapy, but didn’t get in.  I ended up switching to psychology, planning to get my master’s in music therapy.  After college, I turned back towards this dream.  Mostly, at the time, what attracted me was that the nearest programs were 2 and 6 hours away respectfully.  You see, by that point, I knew that my family had been affected by alcoholism.  I knew that I was miserable whenever I was at home.  And I knew that I needed to get away to figure out who I was.

This was my first real rebellion.  My mother and I got into our first real fight over this.  And this was the beginning of the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

