ABA and then Who Knows?

I know that it’s been a few days since I’ve posted, but life got in the way as it sometimes does.  Between work and school, and getting things done around my apartment, I didn’t have much time for writing.  That is something that I am hoping to change over time, however, right now, both work and school have to be my priority.  Given that that is the case, I thought that this might be a good time to talk a little bit about what it is that I do for a living–and what I am going to school to do.

I am a behavioral counselor, doing ABA with children, primarily those with autism, but that is not always the case.  Now, my background in ABA has been a bit scattered to explain it best.  ABA in Pennsylvania (where I am from) is not nearly as formal as in Los Angeles (where I live now).  The people who are out here?  They know what they are doing.  I never realized there was so much to learn about ABA.  ABA or Applied Behavior Analysis is a process of behavioral change based on scientific data that has been under study.  So what does that mean?  It means that I work with clients on socially significant goals–like reducing tantrums and aggression and learning appropriate ways to gain attention, and I take data on it.  I tally and record the duration of tantrums and aggression and track the number of correct or incorrect attempts on other goals.

I am also working on my master’s in ABA, so that I can eventually move up.  I do not know if this is what I want to do for the rest of my life–in fact, I am pretty sure that it’s not, although it is what I want to be doing right now.  I am good at what I do, but I do feel as if I am being drawn in a different direction.  I want to do counseling, or perhaps something within the anti-trafficking sphere, but practically speaking, moving up in a career that I enjoy even if it is not my dream job–it’s where I need to start.  From there, who knows?

Leave a Reply

